The Hundredth

roses-983972_960_720.jpgShout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his;
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.” (Psalm 100 NIV)

This is my 100th blog post, and therefore an occasion for joyful thanksgiving for all the good things that the Lord has done for me. I began blogging with the aim of encouraging fellow Christians, and others who may stumble on this site. As a single woman – though I work full time in a busy job – I have my evenings free, and this I now consider a blessing. There is time to pray and time to blog; and the things that I have learnt over the years during my times of prayer and meditation on the scriptures, I wish to share with others.

Yet, there were times when I felt discouraged and was tempted to give up. How can someone in a state of emptiness, refresh others, I wondered. Still I kept on, holding to this promise – “The liberal soul shall be made rich: and he that waters shall be watered also himself.” (Proverbs 11:25 KJ 2000)

In my last post I shared CS Lewis’ perspective on the spiritual lows that we sometimes face in our Christian lives. He called it the Law of Undulation, and described how the Lord uses the ‘troughs’ in our spiritual experiences to strengthen us. I have had to walk through a few troughs in the 8 months since I first started blogging including 2 surgeries, difficulties in the workplace, periods of spiritual dryness and loneliness.

“No trial has overtaken you that is not faced by others. And God is faithful: He will not let you be tried beyond what you are able to bear, but with the trial will also provide a way out so that you may be able to endure it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13 NET). So, I am convinced that God permits these troughs for our good, to strengthen us and to use us for His purposes.

rose-959285_960_720.jpg

This evening, as I write my 100th post, I am filled with gratitude to God, who has kept me and my loved ones thus far and who has answered so many of my prayers – “What shall I render to the LORD for all His benefits toward me? I shall lift up the cup of salvation and call upon the name of the LORD.” (Psalm 116:12 NASB)

Leave a Reply

