Praying for Restful Sleep

sunrise-1014550_960_720“He gives good sleep to His beloved.” Psalm 127:2

On nights when I have trouble sleeping, I find that confessing scripture verses on sleep and then saying a short prayer, helps me enjoy the rest God promised us.

I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of many thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around. Psalm 5:5-6 

In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. Psalm 4:8

He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. Psalm 121:3-4

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep. Psalm 127:2

If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet… for the Lord will be your confidence and will keep your foot from being caught. Psalm 3:24, 26

Thank You, Father, for the day that has ended and the night that You sent for our rest. May Your name be blessed now and forevermore.

Forgive me, Lord, for the sins of the past day. Cleanse me by the blood of the Lamb. Grant me grace to be different and grow more like Jesus each day.

Father, as our Lord has taught us, I also forgive anyone who may have grieved me. Please remove all hurt feelings and anger from my heart. Fill my mind with kind thoughts towards all.

Having confessed my sins, and trusting in Your forgiveness, help me to sleep with a pure heart and a clean conscience.

And now Lord, let this night be spent in the awareness of Your sweet presence. Help me to be aware of the Father’s loving care and the comfort of the Holy Spirit, as I sleep.

Save me from all the devices of the enemy. Let no fear or nightmares or evil thoughts trouble me, for I belong to You and the devil has no authority over my life.

May the peace of Jesus, fill my heart, soul and mind. Let the gentle sleep that You promise Your beloved children be mine tonight.

Help me awaken early, tomorrow, with thoughts of You, with songs and prayers in my heart and lips.

In Jesus holy name, I pray.

All scripture verses were taken from the English Standard Version.

Leave a Reply

